Dearest Dusty – Rest In Peace Little Man

Many of you may have noticed how I’ve been quiet this past week. I put that down to my own illness and stress at school. It was true, I have been down with a cold that made my throat feel like it was on fire but my heart wasn’t in my blog because of my poor baby.

Dusty’s health seemed to drop rapidly. He went from his normal wiggly, gorgeous self with his bright eyes and wonderful hair to a skinny little lad with running eyes and nose. He was hunched and, though he ate, it was a nibble. Carrot and broccoli, his favourite treats, still made him happy but he wasn’t himself.

The beautiful little boy was put down about half an hour ago. I know I could have waited before doing a blog post but I wanted you all to know the truth. I’m still in shock at the minute, it doesn’t seem real that he’s gone. That I won’t walk down and see him anymore, looking up in the everlasting expectation that I was going to bring him something tasty.

He was a special little man. A real star. He was so good, so gentle. I know he reached a good age of 5 years and a month but that doesn’t make it any easier. I miss him so much already. He was wonderful.

Dusty will pop-corn free over the rainbow bridge with his brother now. They were never separated in life, being truly made for one another, and are re-united once more.

Sleep peacefully, little man.

The hooman xx

IMG_0389.JPG

IMG_0333.JPG

Posted in Hooman Wheeks
16 comments on “Dearest Dusty – Rest In Peace Little Man
  1. We are so sorry for your loss……little Dusty was a star for sure and no doubt he’s already running the show over the Bridge. He’s reunited with his friends and is feeling wonderful and young and happy………..AND he’ll always watch over you and the others…you can count on that.

    Hugs, Sammy

    • Thank you for your kind words. We just buried him out in the garden under the apple tree, next to his brother. He’ll be with Whizz now and, you’re right, his suffering and old age is gone. Thank you sweet Sammy,
      The hooman xx

  2. So sad. But brothers need each other, so he won’t be alone. We love you, D. Run free. xoxo

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  3. Jemima Pett says:

    So sorry to hear about this – and thank you for taking the time for visiting us and consoling us about Humphrey. I hope you feel better physically soon – emotionally, well I know the problem of that missing face. 😥

    Jemima at George’s Guinea Pig World

    • It was the least I could do when I know you’re going through the same pain that I am going through. I hope you feel better soon, too. Humphrey was a gorgeous little man, I know he’ll be much missed and was much loved,
      The hooman xx

  4. My heart goes out to you. Dusty was adorable, and he knew he was cherished.

  5. Clowie says:

    I’m sorry to hear such sad news. It’s hard to be parted from a sweet friend.

    • Very hard indeed. Thanks for taking the time to come and visit, Clowie. It means a lot to know he wasn’t just known by me and my family but that, in the last 8 months of his life I brought his wonderfulness to the world.
      The hooman xx

  6. PigLove says:

    Oh my sweet little friend. My ❤ breaks for you. I am so sorry to hear this about dear Dusty. I wish I could be there to give you hogs and snout kisses in person. My piggy shoulder is always here for you. XOXO – Bacon

    • Thanks Bacon. I’ll catch your air kisses and hold them to my own broken heart. Love you, buddy. Dusty couldn’t have had better furfriends than those he met in the blogosphere.
      The hooman xx

      • PigLove says:

        aaww my friend. Just think Dusty is watching over you now and he will *always* be in your ❤ and memories. Think of those times my sweet dear friend. XOXO – Bacon

  7. Nylabluesmum says:

    Pleeze accept our sympaffiez on da loss of yer beelubbed Dusty….he shure waz a hansum G-piggie….
    We iz hopin he n Whizz are popcornin in Summerland n lookin down on all of ya wif lub…
    WE sendz ya purrz n purrayerz fer peece in yer heartz…
    Yerz, Nylablue n Sherriellen Mum

  8. Nylabluesmum says:

    Yer most wellcome…
    So many of our furendz haz run n flew n binkyed n popcorned to Summerland diz yeer… 😦
    May da memoreez comfert ya..
    Nylablue n Mum

Leave a Reply

