Intrepid Explorers

20140423-174051.jpg

I nervously approached the cave entrance, my nose twitching slightly to pick up as many scents as I could. Pip had no such fears, my friend had already run from the safety of the hole, wheeking and leaping as he did so. A small smile tugged the corners of my lips and I slowly shook my head from side to side, I really was getting to old for this.
“Come back, Pip,” I laughed, heaving my stomach over the bar and out into the open.

20140423-175009.jpg

Still terrified, I followed him across the open space towards ‘Billy’ mountain. My young friend was already charging around it, looking up at the top with a quizzical expression on his face.
“Reckon he’s home?” Pip asked me, pausing and looking back at me with bright brown eyes. I knew he was referring to Billy or, as Pip called him ‘the monster.’
“He’s probably found warmer places in the giant cave,” I replied, hurrying to be with him.

20140423-175328.jpg

Pip wriggled his bum back and forth, making me roll my eyes.
“What are you planning now?” I grunted, lowering my head to take a few quick bites of the long grass beneath my little pink paws.
At first he didn’t reply but, when he did, it caused me to gasp: “I’m going to climb it!”
I opened my mouth to protest profusely but he was already making his way up the mountain slope. His little paws gripped for purchase on the slanted surface. He never listens to me anyway, I decided before settling back down to wait for his return.

20140423-175720.jpg

He had barely climbed the mountain when I heard him utter a small squeak. I lifted my head, swallowing my mouthful. Shuffling round so that I could see him better I called up.
“What’s wrong?”
He glanced down at me and shivered. “I don’t think I dare go any higher…”

20140423-180840.jpg

Despite his fear, I let out a snort. All this brave act and the one thing he was scared of was heights! He faced massive rabbits without a blink. Stared down the blackbirds on the other side of the mesh and rumblestrutted with the best of them. What a wuss he really was.
“Come back down then,” I instructed, waiting for his return.
He shimmed back down the ground beside me and snuggled up beside me, trying to act as though nothing had happened.

I touched my nose to his cheek then we headed back into our cave.

20140423-180301.jpg

Mop and Pip xx

Posted in From the Piggy Lips
14 comments on “Intrepid Explorers
  1. PigLove says:

    Oh WOW! That looks like amazing fun. Just think – it would be awesome if I could be there with ya’ll having some piggy fun. XOXO – Bacon

  2. What an exciting adventure – even part way up the mountain is a major accomplishment and EVER so exciting!!

    Hugs, Sammy

  3. Eeks, Mummy wouldn’t be happy if whee were out of our run because whee would make a dash for the hidey holes and flower beds and she might never see us again!!

    You are furry luck to have a walled garden!

    Nacho, Noah, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

Leave a Reply

